a lesson in biology

According to Wikipedia, the human heart has four valves.
Of these four valves, two are atrioventricular and two are semilunar.
The atrioventricular valves are known as such because they sit between the heart’s atria and ventricles, controlling the flow of blood.
They consist of the mitral and the tricuspid valves.
The way they work is that whenever the heart contracts, the left atrium will fill with blood.
This results in an increase of pressure, causing the mitral valve to open.
The blood will then flow into the left ventricle and the mitral valve closes to prevent a reversal of blood flow.

Sometimes I imagine that you are my mitral valve.

I don’t think the English language is capable of fully realising the extent of my love for you.
And frankly, I don’t think I understand the language of science well enough to utilise it appropriately, but this is what I do know:

I feel you deep within my chest cavity, in between my lungs.
You are as vital to me as breathing, and I fear that I can’t complete that very task without your help.
Sometimes I am overcome with a desire to press myself against you, with all the strength that I posess, lest you not know the force of my emotions.
Other times I want to crawl inside your soul and make it my permanent home, wallpapering it with the way my heart pounds whenever you whisper my name.
You are built of titanium steel and detailed with diamonds mined from the Earth’s core; once you decide to accept something it becomes an infallible truth.

I want my love to be that truth.

Leave a comment